take me home country roads

‘Marry Arthur!’ they said!  ‘He’ll take you places you’ve never been!’ they said!” was all Gladys could pronounce.

“I know. I know.” her husband timidly replied.

“I love you, honey, ” she reminded him, “But Tucumcari, New Mexico. population forty- su’um?  For our honeymoon?!”

“On the bright side,” he reasoned, “It’s one of those quaint places where everyone’s named after someone in the Bible. Isn’t that so nice?”

“My big fear is,” she said, “We may be stuck here in big trouble. Remember Lot’s wife?”

Jean L. Hays supplies this week’s Photo prompt for Friday Fictioneers as Rochelle Wisoff~Fields leads us in a weekly attempt to write a story of one hundred words based upon a photo prompt.

13 comments

  1. Not my idea of a honeymoon… though for my first honeymoon, for a very short-lived marriage, we did cross Canada and came back by the northern States… we did hit some little knockabout places…

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hahahaha! Yes, very important to remember that point.

    Comedian Henny Youngman once said, “For our anniversary, my wife said she wanted to go some place she’d never been before. I said, Try the kitchen.”

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

