don’t play that song

Because Claude obeyed his Mommy and Daddy, his fairy godmother granted his wish.

She brought his favorite doll, Mr. Fleener, to life.

There was one condition though:

“He must never play ‘My Gal’s A Corker’, lest he die.”

“Never refer to Shakespeare, and he won’t play it.”

All went well for weeks at a time. Mr. Fleener mostly played Big Band era standards and show tunes.

One night Mommy and Daddy went to visit family and left Claude with a baby sitter.

“Oh No!!” he gasped. “Not Rhoda the English major!!”

From afar they heard: “My Gal’s a Cooorker”!!!

This week’s photo prompt was supplied by John Nixon. Rochelle Wisoff~Fields leads us weekly in Friday Fictioneers.

14 comments

  1. Holy cow, I KNOW that tune! We used to sing it as a marching cadence in boot camp, except it was, “My girl’s a pretty girl, she’s a Missouri girl ..” which probably wasn’t as interesting, of course (and it was Fort Leonard Wood in Waynesville, MO). Rhoda had better not be re-hired.

    Fun stuff, Larry! I really enjoyed this one. 🙂

    Like

  2. Funny story, Larry. That’s one old song I’m not familiar with.It sounds like one of the old turn- of-the-century songs my dad used to sing like “I’m Just A Bird in a Gilded Cage”. I guess Mr. Fleener is gone for now. Well done. 😀 — Suzanne

    Like

Leave a Reply

