another fine mess

“That old car behind us reminds me,” boasted Wilberforce to Mabel, “That yesterday was the fifty first anniversary of Stan Laurel’s death.”

“I just watched “Murder Case” last night.

“Oh I’ve always liked that one too honey,” she reminded him.

“It wasn’t one of those dark, moody film noirs,” he went on, “Where there’s always some dame with gams down to the floor.”

Somehow I can’t imagine their winning somebody like that over with all those lopsided gestures and babbling.”

“Oh I don’t know about that,sweetheart,” she chimed in. “I seem to remember that was how you impressed me.”

Thank you to Rochelle Wisoff~Fields for her weekly help with Friday Fictioneers. This week’s photo prompt is from Al Forbes.

14 comments

  1. Ooh, her last line – gentle amusement with a slap of reality. I think you missed a quotation mark in front of Somehow. Dialogue was really good, they both had clear voices, which is always a bonus. it would have also been confusing other wise with so few speaking tags, but because they are both so clear there was little need for speaker identification.

    Like

  2. If you’re speaking of the dialog in the old film noir, some of it I think was lifted from the books. The writing in those detective stories was classic. I loved Humphrey Bogart’s descriptions of women as he thought. Well done, Larry. 🙂 — Suzanne

    Like

Leave a Reply

