internet communication

mouse-on-the-prowl

“Oh, honey!” Laura boasted to Rob.
“It’s amazing how far mankind has come in the past two thousand years!”

“Don’t you remember, only until fairly recently, it was impossible to get back in touch with old friends from so long ago?”

“Now we can spend so much of our free time enjoying their company and seeing how they’ve turned out.”

Rob politely humored her as she gazed, mesmerized, at all the Facebook status updates.

Finally he admitted, “I’m so happy I have such an easy time finding out that my sixth grade teacher dreads standing on line at Dunkin’ Donuts.”

This week’s photo prompt is from Marie Gail Stratford. Rochelle Wisoff Fields leads us weekly in our Friday Fictioneers, in which each of us writes a hundred word story.

20 comments

  1. Yes, that last line does a great job of exemplifying the terribly BORING status updates you too often see. But as others have said, I also do like to connect to old friends. I only wish there were a filter for “only show me interesting posts”!

    By the way, I don’t have my 6th grade teacher on FB, but I am FB friends with my old high school drama/speech teacher — and he was one of the first people to read and comment on my blog, back when I was lucky to get one view per day. So I am forever grateful for that!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

