aah yes, i remember it well

IMG_0142

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Memory on the Menu.”      Compared to recent memories, I’ve always very much preferred the long ago kind. In an episode of “The Odd Couple”,  Oscar Madison reminds Felix Unger of Dorothy Parker’s claim to have hated writing but loved having written. That’s the way my understanding of life is. I see time as being divided into three parts. The future is pure theory. There is, to  a certain extent, no point in bothering to think about it. The present is one big responsibility. Even the good things have their share of annoyances. The past, though, from this point of view, is the nicest. Each of us is able to see it, as he can see the present, but he’s not obligated to deal with the hard parts. The recent past still has entirely too many memories of all its annoyances. Life during my school days, or during the times when I was working at some long-lost job, was no more interesting then than my current life is. What makes it so interesting for me to reflect upon those previous times is the very fact that I can’t possibly have them back. I can’t possibly control my past. What is done cannot possibly be undone. Anything left undone cannot possibly be done. I can, however, control it in my imagination.  There’s no point in bothering to take such an approach to the immediate past, but it works well with much earlier time frames. There’s quite a significant reason for my having used a picture of a Good Humor ice cream truck instead of a currently commonplace vehicle. Last night I attended the first night of the annual fair at St. Mary of the Isle Church in Long Beach, New York.  That truck was there. For me, Good Humor is a perfect example of the best of nostalgia. It was prominent long ago and has been hardly ever seen during current and recent times. That’s the kind of memory that has always truly piqued my interest.

https://rogershipp.wordpress.com/2015/07/10/memory-on-the-menu/

https://srollinson7.wordpress.com/2015/07/10/memory-on-the-menu-ill-have-a-starter-and-a-pudding-too/

https://warriorfreya.wordpress.com/2015/07/10/prompt-page-0055-memory-on-the-menu/

https://toweararainbow.wordpress.com/2015/07/10/deja-vu-haiku-2/

http://mariegriffith.me/2015/07/10/remember-2/

2 comments

  1. I see your point about long ago past memories being the nicest: “Each of us is able to see it, as he can see the present, but he’s not obligated to deal with the hard parts.” What’s done is done and we don’t have to deal with it. We can learn if we choose to, though.

    Yes, Good Humor Strawberry Shortcake popsicles are my favorite.

    Like

Leave a Reply

