yes it’s summer…my time of year

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “In the Summertime.”    Last winter was nightmarishly long, having lingered well beyond my ability even so much as to attempt to put up with it. My spring wasn’t even somewhat active.  So far my summer hasn’t been  the least bit eventful either.

I’ve been truly enjoying it all though. Each day I try to walk at least a mile in order to get my requisite exercise. During the cold months that’s an absolute nightmare for me. This past Memorial Day I marched with my Knights of Columbus council in Long Beach’s annual parade.  I could never handle that kind of thing during a Thanksgiving parade.  

The rain, fog and snow, along with the early sunset and bitter cold, drive me nuts. Road conditions are unbearable.  Warm weather makes the little things in life such a pleasure.  I go to the beach and enjoy the perfect breeze. Plants are in full bloom.  There are cerain minor drawbacks to warmth though. For the past nineteen years I’ve always driven Saturns. My 1992 SC, during its heyday, was absolutely perfect. Over the course of its last few years however, there was a lot of trouble with, among other things, its thermostat. I froze during the cold seasons and roasted during the summer. My current 2001 Saturn, that belonged to my father, now deceased, is still in good shape, so fortunately that’s not a problem.  A major advantage for me during the warm seasons is being able to take a nice relaxing drive to wherever I may want to go.   As long as my thermostat works I’m plum thrilled.  

My nephew Michael and his girlfriend Erin got engaged a few weeks ago at the Bohemian Hall and Beer Garden in Astoria, Queens. It was an outdoor affair. In May, the kin and I went to Brookly Botanic Garden in Park Slope. That was also outside.  Because the weather, each day, was warm I had the absolute time of my life. Cold weather, alas, would have made that impossible.

Even under the circumstances where there are no significant milestones to count on, spring and summer have always been perfect for me, much more relaxing than cold weather. The clothes, food and all sorts of other things are thoroughly to my liking. 

http://www.rileycentral.net/my-summer-so-far-and-what-lies-ahead/

http://geekergosum.com/2015/06/30/the-english-and-the-hot-weather-summer-week/

https://mukund92.wordpress.com/2015/06/30/summer-of-rest/

http://mariegriffith.me/2012/04/12/hot-stuff/

https://toweararainbow.wordpress.com/2015/06/30/summertime/

2 comments

Leave a Reply

