five shortcomings

Two of the things I’ve always wished I could change in my life are my lack of physical strength and coordination.  Unfortunately, though, that doesn’t appear to be possible.  Another is my anxiety. Although I’ve been much better recently than I was a couple of decades ago it still gets me crazy much of the time. I’ve never been the least bit tough enough on people who presume to push me around and to expect me to take things I don’t have to accept. The last thing is my fear of heights. If I could have a day in my life during which all these shortcomings could be eradicated entirely it would be so much easier for me to climb and to reach into high places, to climb a ladder or anything else of significant height, and to pick up things of even average weight. I could do a wider variety of things without the frustration I’ve always been subjected to. There are very many things that each of us is confronted with, over the course of his average day, that require him to have a steady grasp of things physically. It might not seem like much to most people, but to someone who’s always had trouble with these kinds of things it’s a major problem. A life free of anxiety could make even the problems I should still have appear much less intense compared to the way they now always seem. I always tend to get inordinately frustrated while traveling and with new circumstances so without that trouble I could be much more flexible. If I could figure out a way to deal with people who try to take advantage of me, always mindful of my obligation to avoid letting my temper get out of control, that would make my day as good as possible. I could be legitimately tough without getting nasty, and I could also avoid accepting the unacceptable. It may not seem easy to believe but I honestly think that the elimination of those defects of mine would lead to a drastically less stressful and more competent way of life for me.

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/to-do-done/

http://likereadingontrains.wordpress.com/2014/09/13/experiments-daily-prompt-to-do-done/

http://threepsandq.wordpress.com/2014/09/13/prompt-a-round-tuit/

http://lindasbiblestudy.wordpress.com/2014/09/13/five-changes/

2 comments

  1. I recently came across this quote by Eleanor Roosevelt that said “Do one thing everyday that scares you.” It doesn’t matter how ‘big’ or ‘small’ to you or others that one thing may be, just do it. Whether it’s going out on a jog or telling someone, “No, I’m busy right now,” take it one step at a time. I don’t think people can ever be anxiety/stress free, but each step forward will slowly build up your confidence and eventually you’ll become more resilient to anxiety and stress. That’s my opinion anyhow.

    Like

Leave a Reply

