they’ve given me a number and taken ‘way my name

Early last Saturday afternoon I was sitting at a table at one of the local cafes on Park Avenue, leisurely sipping my caramel cappuccino, when I was approached by a tall stranger in a dark grey pin striped suit. He asked me my name. I introduced myself politely, not understanding entirely why I bothered. The fellow, who insisted on remaining anonymous, nodded and replied,

“I’ve been looking for you.”

He went  on to explain that a group of gentlemen, whom he would only refer to as Messrs. Waverly, Solo and Kuryakin, were interested in getting in touch with me about quite an exceptionally urgent problem.  According to him, they believed that I was the only man in the Western Hemisphere who was capable of handling such a grave responsibility.  

“Aah!” I exclaimed. “So my reputation appears to be all that people have told me it is.”

 He then asked me to get into his unmarked limousine so we could take a brief ride to the nearby train station.  We got onto the Long Island Railroad train and rode for about an hour to Penn Station in Manhattan. We then walked over to one of the restaurants in the station and he proceeded to introduce me to the three gentlemen. They explained all they wanted me to do. Another fellow gave me my passport and a large sum of money in order to facilitate my adventures. Of course I’m not at liberty to divulge any information. Naturally I was a little taken aback at first, not having been positive that I could be expected to handle such a responsibility. Afimagester a while, though, I started getting quite a kick out of it all. I knew I’d be expected to wear expensive clothes and hairstyles, to drive a seriously fancy car, to consort with exceptionally lovely women, and to drink my martinis shaken, not stirred. Inevitably I shall soon be given a collection of guns, and all the other hep gadgets that go with such a groovy lifestyle. I shall also have to learn about all the requisite protocol that inevitably is incumbent upon a gentleman who has taken such a profound responsibility upon himself.  It will take me a while to become acclimated to my new surroundings and circumstances but I’m really looking forward to it.

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/greetings-stranger/

http://lindaswritingblog.wordpress.com/2014/09/08/oh-no/

http://yichinglin.wordpress.com/2014/09/08/the-world-makes-borders/

http://helenmeikle.wordpress.com/2014/09/08/daily-prompt-my-mother-said/

 

Leave a Reply

