thou shalt not yell .blessed are the quiet for they shall inherit my respect

I’ve never been able to stand excessive noise.    For as far back as I can remember I’ve always had an entirely intense aversion to excessive volume.    I come from a world where there was entirely too much yelling.     Having always bitterly hated and resented noise, I’ve had quite a difficult time coping with many things that are taken entirely for granted with most people.   Everyplace I go, even to church and libraries, there are so many entirely inconsiderate characters constantly talking out loud and allowing their cell phones to make all kinds of noises, without bothering even so much as to attempt to be a little considerate of others.   Besides my problem with noise in  general I’ve always harbored an equally insatiable hatred of telephones too.      My niece and nephews are all still extremely young, so of course they all still go overboard with their favorite music.   Whenever I tell them it’s too loud, they inform me that I’m the one with the attitude problem.     Unfortunately there simply doesn’t seem to be any interest, among most people these days, in showing respect to others when it comes to noise.   It’s a kind of arrogance that is most certainly not restricted to the young.   I’ve known of very many people significantly older than I, who live by the assumption that if they choose to yell or to increase the volume on televisions, radios, or other devices as much as possible, it’s somehow other people’s responsibility to learn to deal with it.    Many times over the years I’ve referred to the time, when I was working at Citicorp Retail Services in Melville, New York, next to a department where all the people were constantly laughiing and yelling.     The incessant noise drove me entirely into all sorts of fits of rage and fury.    Of course, as always, I was the bad guy.     To my chagrin there are several things in life that seem to be governed by a rule that makes it clear that the most utterly and undeniably inappropriate approach to life will always be specifically classified as the norm.   Of course noise isn’t my only pet peeve.   I  also can’t stand liberals or any other totalitarian control freaks.    You know the type, those who chant manipulative dictatorial catch phrases, like “The only thing intolerable is intolerance.” , while simultaneously attempting to control other people’s lives with no questions permitted.    That, however, is something I have been known already to refer to under several other circumstances anyway.

 

 

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/the-eighth-sin/

http://tnkerr.wordpress.com/2014/08/01/daily-prompt-the-eighth-sin/

http://nonsmokingladybug.wordpress.com/2014/08/01/seriously-daily-prompt/

http://medicinalmeadows.com/2014/08/01/daily-prompt-sin-of-supposition/

 

Leave a Reply

