frankenstein opens pandora’s box

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

As nice as all of mankind’s technological advances are, having given us all sorts of extra ease and convenience, I still like a lot of things better when done the old fashioned way, by real people under ordinary circumstances.    Ever since I was only a little kid, I’ve always enjoyed home made food better than anything frozen or processed.    This is especially true of pastries, baked goods, and desserts in general.   I can remember having made quite a few comments, as a kid, about how home made apple pie tastes so much better than the kind they sell in stores.     I’ve always really liked hand made clothes much better than the kind they make in factories too.    That’s a lot to ask of life though.    Mass produced clothes are usually very nice and much more affordable than those that are individually made.    Music is another world in which I shun excessive technological influence.   I’m not like those fans in the middle 1960’s who abandoned Bob Dylan because he played an electric instrument.   I like a little innovation but please don’t overdo it.

I just recently read something in the New Oxford Review about the current trend toward trying to eradicate penmanship, and to keep people communicating by way of social network media like Facebook and Twitter.    Instead of teaching kids how to write in cursive, liberals in the world of education are now trying to phase it out, explaining that we now live in a world of keyboards and touch pads and that the need for the ability to write is supposedly an anachronism.    The article’s author argues, and I wholeheartedly agree, that each individual’s penmanship, unlike his printing, has his distinctive and unique personality in it and the same thing can’t be said for the printed or typed word.       Food that is processed is a counterfeit of the real thing.   So is manufactured clothing.    Artificial communication, though, is the absolute worst of all because it will inevitably irrevocably destroy all interpersonal relationhips and mankind’s sense of community.  

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/handmade-tales/

http://mjamesjackson.wordpress.com/2014/07/31/use-your-hands/

http://wordswewomenwrite.wordpress.com/2014/07/31/a-handmade-tale-the-myths-say-that-the-raven-brought-fire-to-the-people-by-stealing-it-from-the-sun-im-similarly-enlightened-by-the-ravens-and-children-i-watch-a-420-character-9-line-poem-with/

http://pippakinclawz.wordpress.com/2014/07/31/3228/

 

3 comments

  1. Interesting post and I certainly agree that the art of writing should not be allowed to disappear. On the other hand, I am sure that there is no apocalyptic end in sight for it. Certainly, language is in flux, but we do manage to write eloquent posts, letters, short stories, novels and much more in this digital age. We still have families and friends, colleagues and acquaintances we interact with on a regular basis. So hopefully the change of medium will not necessarily mean the end to – or complete displacement of – “all interpersonal relationhips and mankind’s sense of community.”
    But then… I am an optimist. 🙂

    Like

    1. I hope all goes reasonably well but the article made it quite clear that the fact that we all now speak too frequently in brief sound bytes & that keyboards are so much less personal than penmanship, among many other problems, leave us very much poorer in very many ways

      Like

      1. That is true. I remember during my undergrad, the only time when we were required to write was during every year’s final exams. I used to have to start re-training my hand a month in advance of each to ensure that my writing was legible and that I could cope without “spellchecker” (it wasn’t actually the problem I thought it would be, but I was afraid to begin with that I might have lost my ability to spell because it is an automatic service on word and I thought it might have trapped my brain into being lazy).

        Like

Leave a Reply

