been a long time been a long time been a long lonely lonely lonely lonely time

It seems as if it were only yesterday that I was a youngster.    Now that I have all sorts of Facebook friends from as far back as my days in Jackson Heights,  even before my teens, I’m constantly reminded that even my very earliest days seem quite recent in my memory.   I also spend quite a lot of time with my niece and nephews.   Bridget recently turned seventeen, Sam recently turned twenty one and Michael will be twenty six next month.     That strikes me as quite an eye opener.    It seems as if it were only yesterday that I was that young.    I don’t really mind the passage of time and can even get used to the kids’ constantly rubbing it in.    Perhaps you could say I tend passively to ignore how old I really am.     A few years ago I told my parents that I could understand that twenty years was a long time, but that I couldn’t understand that the 1990’s were a long time ago, even though we were living in the 1990’s twenty years ago.     Thanks to my lifelong obsession with the humanities.   I understand well that time is divided into both objective time and subjective duration.    Man has to deal, in one way or another, with units of time ranging from Grateful Dead time to the New York minute, depending upon his circumstances.     I still think of myself as being young, though I realize quite well that it’s now a crock.   All I have to do is to meet a former classmate or teacher of mine, or anyone else I knew a significantly long time ago.     My appearance has changed, though I’m still recognizably the same as I was in days of yore.     I sort of live in the past in certain ways.    I should like to think that I shall soon be quite a very interesting old timer, the kind who knows how to tell legitimate stories about the past, and to compare and to contrast then and now, but not in a creepy way.      It’s all a question of facing up to the inevitable.    I’ve never liked that as-young-as-you-feel crap.   I’ve also never been able to stand when characters such as Willard Scott refer to fans of his as a hundred and four years young, or anything like that.    When someone pretends that old people can be young in some way he denies the legitimate goodness, beauty and worthiness of both age and youth.    When that happens no one wins and everyone loses.

 

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/age-old-questions/

http://davidfetzer6271951.wordpress.com/2014/07/27/age-old-questions/

http://kosheradobo.com/2014/02/08/accidentally-aging/

http://marthakennedy.wordpress.com/2014/07/27/6238/

One comment

Leave a Reply

