best friend

I haven’t had a best friend since I was a kid.   When I was a kid in Jackson Heights my best friend was Earl.    Then when we first moved to Lindenhurst, around the time I turned twelve years old, my best friend was Jimmy.   His family moved eventually so that left me without a best friend permanently.   They’re both now on my Facebook friend list.   Each one has a birthday on Halloween.    It’s a very nice idea for someone to be able to have a friend whom he can always count upon, and whom he can even refer to specifically as his very best friend.    I’ve never liked the idea of a BFF though, not because I don’t think someone should have a best friend.   It’s simply because I consider it quite a seriously annoying trite catch phrase.    Maybe the reason for my not having a best friend in so extremely long a time is that I’ve always been entirely too distinctive a character to qualify for one.   A best friend is quite an interesting character.    It would be nice if each of us could count on someone to play Norton to his Ralph, or Oscar to his Felix.    I know I don’t lack a best friend because of a deliberate decision.    It’s merely dumb luck that has dealt me such an unfortunate blow.

 

 

best friend

tom balistreri

tucked into a corner

u be cute

Leave a Reply

