bitter and twisted

Were I ever forced to make a final definitive decision about permanently relinquishing the ability to distinguish only one kind of taste which my taste buds would never again be capable of distinguishing it would have to be bitterness.   That covers things ranging from radishes to most kinds of seafood.   When my cousin Joe and his wife Nancy owned Byer’s Restaurant in Huntington Station during the 1990’s I found out the hard way that ginger beer is on the list too.   O that was nasty!     I’ve never really had any problem handling sweet, plain or salty foods and drinks.    I just don’t like too much of any extreme.   Bitterness in food and drink is barely acceptable.    Everyone always reminds me that I’m quite capable of eating anything that’s put in front of me.   Besides that I make sure I finish each and every single last speck of it too.    Wouldn’t it be nice if I didn’t have to notice anything that struck me as less than enjoyable?   Unfortunately life doesn’t ever work that way.    I try to avoid bitter foods and drinks, scrupulously refusing to ask for them whenever I have to make a decision.    One never can tell, though, when something will sneak up upon him without warning.    Over the years I’ve had lots of nasty experience with bitter tastes.   My problem is not that I get sick from anything like that.    It leaves quite a nasty lingering sensation, though, upon my taste buds.    I can’t wait to get rid of it.

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/picky-tongues/

http://abozdar.wordpress.com/2014/06/30/bathe-we-shall/

http://abozdar.wordpress.com/2014/06/30/bathe-we-shall/

http://thefloralbunny.wordpress.com/2014/06/30/sour-apples-bleh/

 

 

Leave a Reply

