mr. peanut

If I were ever able to travel around the world for an entire year, on the condition that I could have in my possession only one small souvenir of home,  I should really like to take with me my Mr. Peanut jar.   It’s an empty Planters Peanuts jar I saved a few years ago after having finished all the nuts in it.

Of course it wouldn’t fit intoPlanters_Peanutsmy circumstances the least bit well.   Isn’t that the entire point though?   I should really like to see all the plum stupefied smirks on all the faces of people in so many different countries wondering why this otherwise entirely inconspicuous American gentleman appeared to have found it so unavoidably necessary to traipse around throughout the world with an empty peanut container constantly within reach.   As far as I know it may even serve as quite an intriguing conversation piece too.   Who knows how many people in other countries may have their curiosity piqued especially intensely by the sight of such a distinctive spectacle?   Everyone knows that conversations of all kinds have started by way of things that catch people’s attention.  I could hang around in stores, cafeterias, gift shops, museums and all kinds of places with my trusty peanut jar.   People will be plum dumbfounded by this quintessentially American artifact.   Besides its making me feel as comfortable as possible by reminding me of home it could lead to my being the talk of the rest of the world.

 

 

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/an-ounce-of-home/

http://abozdar.wordpress.com/2014/06/19/observatory/

http://abozdar.wordpress.com/2014/06/19/light-in-the-tunnel/

http://thehiltonburnellfiles.wordpress.com/2014/06/19/an-ounce-of-home/

2 comments

  1. Howdy! This post couldn’t be written any better! Reading this post reminds
    me of my good old room mate! He always kept chatting about this.
    I will forward this article to him. Fairly certain he
    will have a good read. Thank you for sharing!

    Like

Leave a Reply

