on our way back home

Every morning for the past few months, I’ve been going to Mass at St. Mary of the Isle Church in Long Beach.    From Monday through Friday I go to 9:00 a.m. Mass.   On Sunday I usually go to 11:00 a.m. Mass.   After that I absolutely have to go to the Coffee Nut Cafe, right down the street from the church.   On Saturdays, the only day I don’t have any other reason to be in the neighborhood, I make sure I go there anyway.     Mary Anne and Steve have always been in the habit of going to Gentle Brew, slightly farther down Park Avenue, on the opposite side of the street.  At Gentle Brew they have waffles, a favorite of Steve’s.   The Coffee Nut Cafe has a wide assortment of  tea, pastries, ice cream and other things, though so far I haven’t gotten anything there except coffee.   They have coffees from places ranging from Italy and Ireland to Costa Rica and Peru.    I often drink the Irish Alien, in honor of my ethnic background, and Queens Madness, in honor of my home borough.    It’s always struck me as such an exceptionally nice quiet little place.   Like the bar on “Cheers”, they kind of  seem, as far as I can tell, to have sort of a mini subculture going on where the regularcoffeenuts have all gotten to know each other quite well by now.   I haven’t yet reached the point where I’ve gotten that familiar with them.    I never spend a significant length of time there, beyond a few minutes each day.   Because of my having gone there so frequently and so regularly, though, everyone recognizes me, including a girl who’s a friend of Bridget’s.    By going there on such a regular basis, I get to know a few people in Long Beach and to become a familiar face around here.   Besides that I also get lots of excercise, because lately I walk everyplace.   Most importantly, though, I get to wallow in a fairly wide variety of different kinds of coffee.

http://viewsplash.wordpress.com/

http://patriciaruthsusan.wordpress.com/

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/just-another-day/

http://marthakennedy.wordpress.com/

Leave a Reply

