wink wink nudge nudge

This question struck me as more than somewhat on the difficult  side since I’ve never had a single word or catch phrase that’s been able to serve as an instant means of cheering me up.   There’s one phrase, though, that has long been associated with me as quite a trademark of mine.

For the past few decades I’ve always been known for my very favorite catch phrase, “wink wink, nudge nudge, hint hint, hubba hubba”.    Anyone who’s even the least bit familiar with the famous English television series, “Monty Python’s Flying Circus”, from the late 1960’s and early 1970’s can very easily recognize its obvious source.  My nephew Michael, who’s entirely too young to remember the show, told me a while ago that he has seen it and that he knows that’s where my line came from.    In its strictest sense it’s most certainly an obnoxious compliment about a woman who strikes people as such an exceptionally nice looker.   Please don’t even so much as think of taking it as even the least bit of a bad thing, ladies.   It’s all only for a lark.   Besides that, though, it can also be taken as referring to any flippant reaction to a set of circumstances.   One of the things I’ve been noticing about it over the years is that there are quite a significant number of people who just can’t quite get the hang of it and who always mess up the order of the words.   I’ve been uttering this most enchanting phrase for so long and so predictably by now that it’s even become quite an entirely indispensable part of my vocabulary.    It’s the closest thing I have to a phrase that immediately lifts my spirits.   If nothing else it most certainly does quite an exceptionally good job of keeping everyone else on his toes.

 

 

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/pick-me-up/

http://euzicasa.wordpress.com/

3 comments

Leave a Reply

