if i were a carpenter(mechanic,plumber etc.)

Unfortunately I’ve always had at least a few strikes against me when it comes to being a handy man.   Because of certain medical problems I had when I was a little kid, my hands shake inordinately and I’ve always had less than an average amount of physical strength and coordination.    I’m also quite incapable of handling heights well.   schneiderIt might be quite a very good idea, especially for financial reasons, if I could learn how to fix a car.    After a while the bills that accrue from all the mechanical troubles brought about even by perfectly normal wear and tear on a car over the course of a significant length of time can drive anyone out of his mind.    Maybe it’s because of my having always been so devoid of strength and coordination but I’ve never enjoyed mechanical things and manual labor.    I have the same problem with things like that as I have with math and science.   Like math and science, though, they’re unavoidably necessary parts of life.    If I could develop some mechanical skills, I should avoid all the aggravation and frustration that go with having always to make an appointment at some garage.    When I lived in Lindenhurst I used always to have to go to the now defunct Saturn dealer in  Massapequa .   Then during my time in Wyoming I ended up after a while, going to Frank Gubbiotti’s Auto Lodge in Plains.    Now that I’m in Long Beach I’m stuck with Mavis on Long Beach Boulevard.   Although the workmanship in each of these places has been as good as anyone  can expect it would still be much better for me if I could avoid all the trouble by getting to know my way around the world under my hood.    There are all sorts of other things I wish I could do well too, for financial reasons.    It might be nice if I could paint.   That requires coordination though, since a painter who’s lacking in a steady eye and hand can count on quite horrendous results.   The paint fumes drive me nuts and I tend to get headaches from lots of things.     In the short term, though, before it all catches up with me, I tend, unlike most people, to enjoy somewhat the smell of a nice fresh paint job.   Because of the major problem I’ve always had with heights I should go nuts were I ever to try to paint something that would require me either to climb upon a ladder or to hang from anything, so to paint a ceiling, or the highest part of a wall, would be quite a major struggle for me.   By now I’ve become quite well resigned to the fact that I shall most certainly never be proficient at these kinds of things.    It would be nice, though,if I could at least do something about improving quite a bit.    I always end up being fully expected to help other people anyway, so I might just as well figure out a way to capitalize on it all for my own benefit.

  http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/hammer/

 

http://elappleby.wordpress.com/

Leave a Reply

