musical tension

Having studied classical and baroque mandolin and guitar for ten years under the best professors at the New England Conservatory of Music I knew I was ready. Here I am, though, playing a duet, Weiss’ “Fantasia In C minor”, at Lincoln Center with Professor Ennio Baggiagalupe, a student of the great Segovia. Now we’re only practicing backstage but soon we shall be forced to face an audience of snooty longhairs. Baggiagalupe, the Maestro, is such a merciless taskmaster. The ticking of the clock is too loud and slow. There’s no turning back.

14 comments

  1. “but soon we shall be forced to face an audience of snooty longhairs” – This, Larry, says it all. Puts tension in MY stomach, I can’t imagine what the musician is feeling at the Lincoln Center. Chills, Alicia

    Like

  2. Dear Larry, Well written story and I can feel the animosity between the student and teacher. He must be unkind. Too bad, and I can understand the nervousness before playing. also, Sorry Bjorn, I thought it was a mandolin too, I apologize. I stand corrected, sorry about the mistake – a Portuguese guitar – Nan 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

