how do you sleep?

If there’s one thing that can compete with cold weather for the distinction of being the thing I most bitterly despise, it’s when I’m forced to stay up late at night.    Of course, I arrived, quite a while ago, at the conclusion that I have all sorts of major neurotic problems about control anyway but there’s something about staying up late that tends to drive me especially crazy.  Besides that I always, whether I like it or not, and whether I’m obligated or not, end up waking up obscenely early each morning.   I always tell people that I haven’t gotten an entire five minutes worth of sleep since the Kennedy-Nixon debates.   That may be perhaps a bit of an exaggeration but throughout at least most of my adult lifetime I always have been incapable of sleeping well at night.    What make things even much worse are the facts that I have a major problem with impatience and frustration and that I get unusually tired out anyway, combined with my inability to fall asleep.    Many people claim to be able to fall asleep either by reading or by watching television.    Things like that never do me any good.   I just like to lie in bed and wait for sleep to happen.    I got to the point, quite a while ago, where I finally decided to settle for as much rest, though not necessarily sleep, as possible.    Often people have told me to go to bed later than I’m used to, based on the assumption that a later bedtime will help.   Having taken them up on it, I found out the hard way that I wake up with a headache if I stay up too late.    For quite a few years, my cousins and I were on a bowling league with St. Jane Frances de Chantal Knights of Columbus council 6526 in Wantagh.    Although it was always quite an especially enjoyable experience for me, it drove me crazy whenever the night lingered on until very late.    Whenever we ended up staying in the bowling alley’s bar for an even somewhat long time I got frustrated and restless.   It was even worse at the end of each season at the annual party.    Those nights lasted until at least midnight and always drove me nuts.    Cousins Larry, Gary and Joe enjoyed being out all night long but I was the lone voice of dissent among us all.     Another example of this problem was when Mary Anne,  Steve and I, along with Mark, Laura and some friends of theirs, spent two consecutive days and nights in Manhattan a few months ago.   It drove me entirely out of control.    Besides the fact that both days were filledsleep_sheep with non-stop activity, neither ended until insanely late at night.    I simply couldn’t handle the strain.    Those were examples of nights that are filled with activity, but I can’t even try to enjoy a late night of peace and quiet.   After a while all I really want to do is to go to bed, no matter how especially nice and enjoyable my circumstances are, and to get it over with.     I seem to be quite good only during the daytime.    In the morning, no matter how much I may dread having specifically to get up out of bed, once I’m up and taking a shower, getting ready to start my day, I can count on having all the spunk and I’m going to have, as well as quite an exceptionally charming personality.   I appear to be the veritable personification of the rule about early-to-bed-and-early-to-rise.    If I do things any other way I’m simply incapable of functioning.

 

 

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/because-the-night/

http://lishwriter.wordpress.com/

2 comments

Leave a Reply

