ah shaddap you face

If there’s one thing I absolutely can’t stand, and quite bitterly resent, it’s any unwelcome unnecessary noise.   I can’t stand any kind of noise in general anyway but at least I’ve been able to resign myself to the kind that’s unavoidably necessary by definition.    It wouldn’t be realistic for someone to hang around an airport or construction site and to cuss people out for being too loud.    Over the course of my lifetime I’ve always had quite a razor’s edge relationship with sound.   This is also true in my dealings with language, the written and spoken word.    Nothing impresses me anywhere near as much as well written and well performed music, or when someone writes or speaks articulately.   When,however, I have to be subjected to something that’s poorly written or spoken, played or  sung, it gets me crazy.  kramd

For as long as I can remember I’ve always been compulsively articulate and very conservative.   Whenever I either hear, or read, something that’s either inarticulate or of a left wing ideological slant it makes me cringe.   Language should be used solely as a vehicle for the conveyance of the truth and not as a means of promulgating an ideological agenda.   Besides that I’ve always been quite prone toward getting all my tenses, cases and other linguistic proprieties entirely in order.   Everyone knows about my notoriously hypersensitive nerves.   For approximately the past two decades we’ve been bombarded with cell phones.   Ever since I was a kid I’ve never been able to stand the telephone anyway.  I not only don’t like the sound of its ring, or having to talk on it.   I can’t even stand to be in the company of someone who’s talking on the phone.    Now that each and every single one of us has a phone in his possession at all times it’s quite a major chore for me to attempt to accept it.   I’ve never been able to understand why cell phones are considered acceptable in churches and libraries.   In the old days, churches and libraries were considered places where peace and quiet was mandatory.   Now phones are allowed.   A couple of months ago, Mary Anne, Steve and I went to see “Madama Butterfly” at Lincoln Center.   I couldn’t help noticing that when the people who are in charge there say cell phones aren’t allowed they really mean it, and patrons respect that fact.   In churches and libraries, though, the people in charge claim that cell phones aren’t allowed but they don’t bother to enforce it and everyone leaves his phone on, thereby subjecting the rest of us to endless unwelcome noise.     Throughout my life I’ve always been subjected to people with very loud voices, as well as bad music and flagrant misuse of language.  I can still remember, from when I worked at Citicorp Retail Services in the late 1980’s and 1990’s, a representative example of the unbearable impact that noise can have on me.   When I was working in the Sales Processing department with Sal, Carole and Yolanda, Miz Kitti, Doreen and Kimbley, there was a department within earshot of ours where the employees were unbearably loud and unruly.   They literally yelled, and even laughed hysterically for no reason, all day long.   It was quite an unbearably torturous experience for me.    Unfortunately it turned me into a nasty, anti social little creep.    I got very bitterly angry and resentful.     There appears to be something about unwelcome noise, and a poor command of language, which I truly find entirely unbearable.  I’ve always really liked to consider myself quite good natured, a jolly good fellow.   When I have to deal with noise, or with someone who’s inarticulate, though, I truly am subjected to quite a torture treatment.    My ability to accept it and to maintain my cheerful side takes quite a beating.   I’ve tried all sorts of ways to maintain my cool but it’s quite a frustrating  problem.    By now I’ve gotten to the point where I’ve learned to accept the simple facts that it’s a loud inarticulate world, and that all I can do is to try, as politely and as firmly as possible, to convince people to be a lot more respectful of others, both by being a lot quieter and by speaking and writing a lot more articulately.

 

 

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2014/03/31/prompt-drives-me-crazy/

 

8 comments

Leave a Reply

