do your best and leave the rest to fortuosity

I like always both to adhere to a strict code of conduct and to keep an interesting sense of humor about things.   Beware the false dichotomy.   The more I see of today’s leftist ‘who-am-I-to-judge’ mentality, with its permissive approach to abortion, euthanasia, homosexuality, reverse discrimination and all sorts of other horrors, the more I see that we simply can’t afford to allow it to go on.   What they call diversity I call chaos.   Genuine legitimate freedom is being begrudged us in favor of a need to demand that we feel a sense of supposed indebtedness to a bunch of self-pitying, self-aggrandizing special interest groups.   Amazingly we are expected to trust the judgment of the likes of Al Sharpton, Barack Obama and television, movie and talk show personalities    People are encouraged, now more than ever, to take advantage of each other for the sake of pleasure and profit.   I like to mind my own business as much as possible but I’ve never been able to resist a good debate about these kinds of things.   As everyone knows I’ve always been quite the staunch conservative.    Liberalism, while claiming to reject censorship, presumes to censor each and every single move we make in order to affect a supposed Great Society.   Lately there are movements afoot to ban the use of the words ‘retard’ and ‘bossy’.   This is simply not permissible.   Although I’ve always been determined to be as articulate as possible I have no intention of putting up with anyone else’s controlling my speech.    Christianity (Catholicism) has always been so very important for me.   Liberals, as well as other totalitarians, manipulators and control freaks, see fanaticism and hypocrisy in this claim because it begrudges them absolute control over people’s lives.    They want a world devoid of formal or final causality because that would put them in charge.   I like to be as strict an orthodox Catholic as possible.   On an everyday basis I should really like to think that I do a reasonably good job of humoring people.   I’ve always tried to be at least fairly good natured.   Unfortunately I’ve always tended to be somewhat short tempered and I have a major problem with forgiveness.   My ability to hold a grudge is quite legendary though I’m not very happy with it.   At least I’ve learned over the years never deliberately to throw the first punch.    Hep Larry understands that people are quite a mixed bag of nuts.   Real  Larry needs quite a few lessons in patience and understanding though.  One lesson I have to keep track of is like the warning given by St. John of the Cross in his “The Living Flame of Love” about how each of us  tends to see his own character traits, both good and bad, in other people.   If I can have so hard a time dealing with a particular individual, I can just imagine how hysterical he must be over my character defects.   As I said earlier keeping a very good sense of humor about life is exceptionally important.    People can often be hard to take and I know they have the same problem with me too. etiquettebook_sm   Because each of us, in his life and worldview, has such a wide variety of distinct quirks and preferences, many of which deviate from those of other people, an inability to laugh at it all can be toxic.  Because all the things I’ve been complaining about are forms of fanaticism, I really like to refrain from any sort of an extreme position about anything.   In the end it’s all about text, context and subtext.   Whenever someone pushes too hard he finds out in the end, the hard way, that things always backfire anyway.

 

 

 

 

 

 

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2014/03/30/prompt-walk-the-line/

13 comments

Leave a Reply

