luck of the Irish

Every time I’ve taken a chance on putting three coins into a fountain all I’ve ever gotten to show for it have been three wet rusty coins.      I don’t really believe in lucky charms or anything like that.     Behavior that leads supposedly  to either a lucky or unlucky outcome always to be more of a case of the post hoc ergo propter hoc logical fallacy anyway.    Having been prone over  the course of all my adult lifetime to anxiety and panic attacks, though, I never pass up a chance for a nice security blanket.    I’ve always been somewhat amused whenever someone claims that he wants to get involved with me in any kind of lottery, contest or something of that nature because I’m supposedly always so especially lucky with things like that.   Amazingly I’ve somehow always been unusually lucky at very minor little insignificant games of chance.    Over the years I’ve been known to win small contests and lotteries at work, school or anyplace else where people are willing to gamble.    Over twenty years ago, at my cousin Vinnie’s church in western New York, I won a football that had been used by the Buffalo Bills in a recent Super Bowl, with all their autographs on it, including Jim Kelly’s.    Since I’ve never enjoyed sports anyway it was only somewhat interesting for me.    When I was actively involved at Our Lady of Perpetual Help’s  parish and Knights of Columbus council, I won all sorts of little contests at their fund raisers.    I also frequently won minor things at St. John the Baptist Diocesan High School.    In the Scranton Diocese, all the churches in the deanery in which I lived seemed to have their annual fund raisers at about the same time.    One year  I went to about a to the annual bazaars for about a half dozen of the local parishes and won something really nice at each one.     Nobody’s life ever really changes, either for the better or worse, just because he either makes a wish, wears a particular object or article of clothing, or says or does something in order to affect a particular change of circumstances.   Such claims are all spurious.     If it makes someone feel more comfortable, though, to eat a certain food,  to wear a certain article of clothing, or to engage in some particular behavior in order better to ensure a favorable outcome, I say that as long as there’s no real serious expectation that a real connection exists, and as long as he’s just doing it in order to feel more comfortable, it’s a good idea.       rabbitfoot

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2014/03/21/daily-prompt-coins/

8 comments

Leave a Reply

