my name is larry

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FvLikiVraHE      My full name is Lawrence.    I was named after my mother’s father, who died a few weeks before I was born.   Most people have always called me Larry, with the exception of several teachers of mine and a few other authority figures and people whom I’ve been expected to deal with under exceptionally significant official  circumstances, who call me Lawrence.    My last name is a fairly large Italian name and everyone always has such a hard time when he tries to learn how to pronounce it or to spell it.    Although I don’t have a middle name my confirmation name is Joseph.    Over the course of my lifetime I’ve been known by several nicknames.    Because I grew up having to associate with an Uncle Larry Senior and  a cousin Larry Junior, both older than I, we had always been big Larry, little Larry and Baby Larry.   After a while I got sick and tired of being known by such a childish name.    When I was a kid, my Uncle Frankie had often called me Sam Spade, after Humphrey Bogart’s character in “The Maltese Falcon”.    When we bowled together with the Knights of Columbus, my cousins got into the habit of calling me B.L.T. and it’s stuck with me ever since then.   I first met Kitti when we were working together at Citicorp Retail Services.   Very soon after we first met she started calling me Larrabee, after Robert Karvelas’ character on the 1960′ television show “Get Smart”, so I started calling her Miz Kitti, after Amanda Blake’s character on the 1950’s and 1960’s show  “Gunsmoke”.    We still call each other those names on e mail messages.   Unfortunately I haven’t been active in my current Knights of Columbus council, Assumpta 3987, in Luzerne, Pennsylvania, but when I was really active in my first council, O.L.P.H. 794, in Lindenhurst, New York, there were very many people there who could never remember my name.   I ended up getting into the habit of answering to Joe, Tom, Frank, Bobby and several others over the course of the time I was there.    Although they have a humorous colorful side names can be very important too since they deal with ontological concerns and give people a kind and degree of power over others.   Because I’ve always been involved with the culture war, as a staunch conservative, I’ve always been determined to point out to people how dangerous it is to get into the habit of letting liberals determine for us how we must refer to people, things, and circumstances in general.   Names must never be used, from an ideological point of view, as a means of control.    He who controls someone’s identity controls his life.

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2014/03/17/writing-challenge-names/comment-page-1/#comment-327409

15 comments

Leave a Reply

