a most frustrating bunch

For over seven and a half years I lived in the borough of Wyoming, in Luzerne County, in northeastern Pennsylvania.    Because of my never having owned a computer during that time, I was in the habit of going daily to the Wyoming Free Library on Wyoming Avenue, next door to the Methodist church, close to the Eighth Street intersection.    I soon became a part of the library’s collective peresonality and image.     In most respects it was quite a very nice friendly environment frequented by a cast of decent likable offbeat characters.     My one grudge against the people there was that they appeared to have had absolutely no respect whatsoever for the need for peace and quiet.    I grew up in an environment where the obligation to maintain strict silence at all times, in both public and school libraries, was considered utterly sacrosanct, and the older I get the more I resent noise.     There was a certain very nice family there, who showed up regularly, who really bothered me in this respect.    Ultimately they were quite the likable friendly bunch.   They were always so nightmarishly annoying though.      The husband and wife showed up at least a few days a week, often with at least one of their kids.    They were entirely too loud and talkative.   Although there were signs in the library that specifically forbade the use of cell phones on the premises that rule was never enforced and they took every possible advantage of it.      One day a few years ago I happened to have overheard a cell phone conversation between the father and one of his sons.     The son had been sent to jail for either drinking, drugs or some equivalent offense.   I can’t remember which it was.    All his father did on the phone, for the course of quite a very long time, was yell and complain, and make explicit references to the specific problem.    Besides the fact that excessive noise has always made me crazy, the subject matter of the phone call was hardly the least bit  fit for public consumption.   Predictably I cringed and got frustrated.     It’s a confusing predicament to have to be in.   Do I politely affect a couldn’t-care-less smirk and shrug?   Do I give someone like that a mean nasty smirk, which I tend to do spontaneously?      I’d always recognized that these characters were very much on the colorful side anyway but this was entirely ridiculous.    I became so resentful and frustrated.     His behavior showed an utter lack of prudence and tact.    This wasn’t even an isolated incident.    He and his wife would frequently say things, within earshot of others, that drove me crazy.    The  constant airing of their dirty laundry in public made me feel uncomfortable because I’ve never really looked forward to hearing all those private personal things about the dark side of strangers’ lives.     Especially since they were always so very charming and friendly with me, it got me crazy.    I knew they weren’t really bad but their tendency to be so loud and to let their guard down in public was enough to drive me entirely out of my mind.

 http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2014/03/05/prompt-sleep/

Leave a Reply

