a spot of tea

I’ve always really enjoyed both coffee and tea.    Most mornings I like to go to a local capuccino shop in my neighborhood to get a medium sized cup of one of their distinctive flavors.     By now all the employees have gotten used to having me around.   It’s a small place and considering its size they get quite a significant number of customers there each day.      In the late 1970’s, during my late teens, I had always drunk at least a cup of hot tea daily.   Over the course of my lifetime since then I’ve always had the occasional cup of hot tea, or glass of iced tea, though I’ve more frequently drunk hot coffee.   During the past few weeks I’ve  gotten into the habit of drinking  Earl Grey tea by Twining’s of London.    Each bag comes in a fairly small yellow packet.    I sometimes have some with my sister, brother in law or anyone else who happens to be around.   Quite often, though, I really enjoy a cup when I’m all alone.    I make sure  I fill the teapot with at least enough water for a few cups although I generally only have one.   After a seemingly inordinately long time the pot makes a loud persistent whistling noise so I pour the tea, along with some honey, and occasionally milk, into my cup.    I hardly ever use sugar though I quite enjoy it.   As a general rule I let it simmer for a few minutes before drinking it.    Occasionally I even get exceptionally brave and drink it from my  very large mug with pictures of the Beatles on it.    That can be a bit too much though.     The tea always has such an especially nice scent mild scent, nothing overpowering,  and occasionally I drink the flavored kind.   That’s always an exceptionally interesting touch.    I enjoy all kinds of flavors including the traditional lemon, as well as raspberry, lime, mandarin orange and ginger, among many others.    Like many other beverages tea is quite flexible.    It’s equally enjoyable with a snack or meal, as much as without anything to eat.    For some unknown reason tea has never been quite as popular as coffee in this country.    The images that people usually see on TV shows and movies, as well as status updates on social networks, generally tend to give the impression that coffee is the significantly more interesting of the two drinks.     Tea is especially big in England though.      Many of us in the United States have long ago learned the same lesson as the Englishmen have, that tea is truly good.

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/about-the-daily-post/?blogsub=confirmed#blog_subscription-3

Leave a Reply

