our welcome to 2014

icecreamMary Anne’s and Steve’s friends,  Gary and Jo Anne, threw a really nice party on New Year’s Eve.      We were all supposed to go but Mary Anne got too sick so only Steve and I went.    They only live a few houses away so we walked.     Usually I’m quite happy to enjoy a really nice quiet New Year’s Eve at home without bothering to do any celebrating to mark the occasion.    Occasionally I’ve been known to attend a party thrown by either cousins or neighbors.     As everyone knows I’ve always been quite notoriously bad with meeting new people and in crowds.    I tend to feel uncomfortable in the company of anyone I don’t know and I’m also a bit claustrophobic.   That’s not even counting the fact that I’ve never been fond of staying up late at night.     All worked out quite especially well though.     The people at the party were quite polite and friendly.    They were mostly married couples with their kids.    It’s a good thing I managed to get along so well because it appears I shall have to be spending a reasonably significant amount of time socializing with them from now on.     A top contender for the most interesting character at the party was a really big guy named Kirk.   Kirk has been a less than significantly famous actor ever since the 1960’s.    He spent the night telling us stories about his adventures with Woody Allen, Tennessee Williams and Richie Havens.    When the conversation turned to movies, something came up about John Huston’s movies.   I reminded him that Huston had made the movie version of Flannery O’Connor’s “Wise Blood” in the late 1970’s .   Each of us was quite taken aback that someone else could possibly be so familiar with O’Connor’s works.     On New Year’s Day I made sure I got up in time to go to 9:00 a.m. Mass at St. Mary of the Isle on Park Avenue, because  it’s  the Solemnity of Mary the Mother of God.    Thus began my new year.   I ‘ve been forced to accept one change right after the other.

Leave a Reply

