a busy time

teaUnfortunately I got out of the habit, for a while, of making entries into my blog.     A lot has happened since November.     The first Christmas since my parents’ deaths turned out fairly well.     Steve and I drove Michael here from Long Island City and Sam was here from Hofstra.   A while before that Steve and I went to Union Square in Manhattan where, among other things, we got some of  the Christmas presents.   It was an especially harrowing day for me because we first went to St. Peter’s Prep, where Steve is on the faculty.   It’s a Jesuit high school.    As soon as we first got there I went to 7:30 a.m.  Mass in their chapel.   After Mass I met some really interesting people, most of whom were on the faculty.      None of the bathrooms in that entire section of New Jersey was functional that day so we were all sent home early.   Ultimately, though, I really enjoyed the trip to Manhattan.    I’ve always really been interested in that type of environment.   We went to a big outdoor market where they were selling all sorts of funky esoteric things.     We got much of our Christmas shopping done there and stopped to get something to eat.    On Christmas morning we all went to Mass at St. Mary of the Isle Church on Park Avenue in Long Beach.     Micheal, Sam and Bridget all wanted to open their presents that day instead of Christmas Eve.    Late that  afternoon we all went to Mark’s and Laura’s house in East Setauket for a Christmas party.   I finally got a chance to meet Laura’s brother Harold.   Mark has always told me about Harold’s being as much of a Beatlemaniac as I’ve always been.    Harold and I did quite a lot of talking about the Fab Four.    Frank and Autilia were there with their kids and I saw a lot of other familiar faces too.    Because I didn’t have to drive I even drank some bourbon.   I got both my annual Christmas cards too, one from Carole and one from Grace.     Unfortunately Carole’s husband Bob died on October 2.    I also got a lot of Christmas cards this year which my parents would have gotten.    A while before Christmas I first started growing my beard, the first time  I’ve ever really let it go for  significant length of time.    Alas the highlights that were once such a nice shade of red have since turned grey.

Leave a Reply

