PITTSTON TOMATO FESTIVAL~

Pittston’s annual Tomato Festival was a couple of weeks ago.  As always I made sure I went a couple of days.  Each year I see the same guy from the San Cataldo Society.  He always recognizes me & reminds me that I showed up the previous year.  This year, instead of a basket of cheer, he sold a basket of lottery tickets.  I had a really nice time but it’s more about eating than anything else.  I didn’t get anything to eat this year.    Each day, on my way over there, I could never help noticing that on Main Street in Pittston, there was a nice little barber shop that only charged five dollars a haircut for the duration of the festival.  I made sure I got one. I usually go to Rose Chairge in West Pittston but I couldn’t resist the price.  It was raining when I went there. I parked in the library’s parking lot & walked down to the barber shop’s neighborhood.   This month’s lay Carmelite meeting went really well too.  We always meet at 9:00 a.m. on the third Saturday of each month at the Little Flower Manor in Wilkes_Barre.  We always welcome new members.   Nothing significant or drastically different happened at the meeting.  St. Monica’s Guardian of the Redeemer  men’s group still meets regularly too.  St. Barbara’s Catholicism meetings are over.  The last one was last night.  Br. Patrick went to California for the summer so Fr. Phil covered for him.  Gino & Michelle have succeeded in adopting officially their three kids, who have all started their first day of the new school year today.  Uncle Frankie’s birthday party went well.  He was just recently away for  a week to visit Fran so I ended up having to get his mail for him.   Yesterday was Jo~Anne’s birthday.  She’s one of my oldest friends from Queens.  My nephew Michael’s twenty~fourth birthday was on August 24.  He had a really nice day with his girlfriend Erin.  My parents spoke to him on the phone.

One comment

Leave a Reply

