BINGO & THE BAZAAR~

This past weekend was quite active.   St. Barbara’s annual feast, held at St. Anthony’s Church in Exeter, started on Friday night.  I didn’t bother to go on the first night  though because of the torrential downpour.   We’ve been getting quite a lot of electrical storms  & heat waves lately .   I went on Saturday afternoon after I lectored at 4:00 p.m. Mass at O. L. Sorrows (I lectored at St. Joseph’s at 8:30 Mass last Sunday too) .   It was a really nice time. I made sure I entered the raffle, as always.  I got a root beer ice cream cone too.   On Saturday morning I went to the monthly lay Carmelite meeting.  It’s always at 9:00 a..m. on the third Saturday of each month at the Little Flower Manor on South Meade Street in Wilkes~Barre.   We always welcome new people who are interested in joining us.  Sr. Mary Robert & Msgr. Grimaglia were both there.  It went quite well.   On Sunday St. Monica’s annual bingo game was held at O.L. Sorrows Church on Eighth Street in West Wyoming.   Because I always used to help when I was active in my old Knights of Columbus council 794 in Lindenhurst, N.Y., I made sure I called Tom a while ago to ask if I could help.  He got me helping Mike & his wife in the kitchen.  I spent most of the time selling soda & other drinks after that.  I ate a hot dog with chili & later I ate a wimpie.  Unfortunately unlike my old K of C council they didn’t have any knishes.  They’ve never heard of them around here.   I got some cake & a beer too.   I even ended up going to the local Price Chopper for some Diet Pepsi.   Unlike last year Uncle Frankie couldn’t go this time because he hasn’t been feeling so well.  The Catholicism series, on Tuesday nights, has been going quite well so f ar.  Br. Patrick, of the Oblates of St. Joseph, does a really good job of things.  Daren’s birthday was on Saturday.   She died of suicide a few years ago.   I made sure I sent a card to her mother, Grace.  Yesterday I got an answer from her.

Leave a Reply

