BLOOD DRIVE~

ImageThis past Tuesday night, at 7:00, I went to St. Anthony of Padua’s church in Exeter for the first night of Fr. Robert Barron’s Catholicism series on EWTN.  During the day , each Tuesday, it’s at St. Monica’s Parish.   It’s always at St. Barbara’s at night.   Br. Patrick, of the Oblates of St. Joseph, was in charge.   I sat at an empty table.  A little while later a very nice young girl sat right next to me & introduced herself as Mallory.   Since I have a lot of trouble with contextualizing, I entirely overlooked, at first, the fact that I see her at 8:30 a.m. Mass whenever I go to St. Joseph’s on Sunday.  I can never help noticing her there.  Surprisingly she’s not even Catholic.  At the end there was a question & answer session.   Yesterday I went to O. L. Mt. Carmel’s church on William Street in Pittston to give blood.  My appointment was at 4:00 but, being compulsively punctual, I showed up at around 3:00.   Unfortunately I forgot to remind them that it was for a double red cell donation so that’s probably not what they did.  I was happily stunned to see that it was all over within about six minutes instead of the usual twenty minutes.  The last time I was supposed to give blood I was entirely too ill with the flu.  By now I’ve been going quite frequently, for such a long time, that the northeastern Pa. blood drives that several phlebotomists & I have gotten to recognize each other quite well.   Amber, who was one of the ladies who showed up, reminded me that we’d already met before.

Leave a Reply

