FREAK HAILSTORM FROM HELL~

Yesterday, although it started out quite nice, turned into quite an absolute nightmare at about 2:30 p.m.   Uncle Frankie always wants me to go to his house to pick up his mail when he visits Fran.    He’s there for Father’s Day now.   I went yesterday on my usual mostly daily trip to get the mail.    As soon as I first left there was a major bolt of thunder & lightning.    Because of its having been such a nice warm day I honestly fully expected it to be just another lovely spring shower.   It was an absolute nightmare from hell.   There was wind that got up to beyond fifty miles per hour, along with hailstones & zero visibility.    I got the mail from his mailbox.   As soon as I got back into my car it occurred to me that I couldn’t see through my windows.   I couldn’t even so much as dare to try to leave.   I tried to call my parents but their phone didn’t work.  I didn’t have Gino’s & Michelle’s phone number.   They live only two houses away from Uncle Frankie.    I couldn’t even dare to get out of the car so the phone was my only hope.   Eventually it calmed down enough for me to try to go home.  It was a long slow trip down Eighth Street past Wyoming Avenue.    There were all sorsts of fire trucks & other emergency vehicles out.   Eventually I got home.  Amazingly it stopped after only a very short time.   Many people’s homes & trees were damaged.   There was no advanced warning of anything bad.   On television there was a major storm watch for a lot of Pa. counties until 9:00 p.m.    Conveniently I wasn’t terribly nervous or afraid but the frustration really got me crazy.

Leave a Reply

