FATHER’S DAY

Yesterday was Father’s Day.   On Saturday afternoon Mary Anne, Steve &  Bridget, along with their dog, surprised my parents by showing up & staying overnight.  Steve, being Steve, got my mother, Bridget & me to go to Jitty Joe’s in Moosic with him for ice c ream.  I got a bowl of praline ice cream.    Early yesterday we all went to Perkins, on Rte 315 in Dupont, for a really nice breakfast.   They were forced to leave early to pick up Sam at the airport.  He was in Florida visiting his other grandmother.   Michael & Erin were visiting her parents.    Uncle Frankie has been visiting Fran for the past few days so I go to his house regularly to pick up his mail.   I’m in the habit of attending 8:30 Mass each Sunday morning at St. Joseph’s on Sixth Street but yesterday I went to 11:00 Mass at O.L. Sorrows. After Mass, when I stopped at Unimart on Wyoming Avenue, I ran into Gino, Michelle & the kids outside the store.   On Saturday morning I attended our monthly Lay Carmelite meeting on South Meade Street in Wilkes_Barre.  We meet at the Little Flower Manor on the third Saturday morning of each monthe.  We welcome new people who are interested in joining.   Sister Mary Robert wasn’t available but Msgr. Grimaglia was with us.   Unfortunately, O.L.P.H., my old grammar school on Wellwood Avenue in Lindenhurst, N.Y., is now closed permanently.  On the bright side, Msgr. Bob Brennan, an alumnus of  both O.L.P.H. & St. John the Baptist Diocesan High School in West Islip, N.Y. , has recently been named an auxiliary bishop in the Rockville Centre Diocese.  Today is Beatle Paul McCartney’s seventieth birthday.   We hall hope he has such an especially fab time.

Leave a Reply

