MEMORIAL DAY AND BIRTHDAYS~

Today wood

Today would have been the ninety~fifth birthday of John Fitzgerald Kennedy, thirty~fifth president of the United States.    Kennedy was the United States’  first Catholic president.  He was also the youngest man ever elected to the office.    He was assassinated by Lee Harvey Oswald in Dallas, Texas on November 22, 1963.    His was the fourth presidential assassination.    Today is also Burt Koza’s birthday.   He was my eighth grade history teacher at Our Lady of Perpetual Help in Lindenhurst, New York.    My niece Bridget’s birthday was on the 27th.   She’s fifteen.   My parents & I talked to her on the phone for practically a half hour.    My cousin Gino’s  birthday was on the 25th.   My parents, Uncle Frankie & I all went over to his party on Saturday afternoon at around 4:00.    Besides him, Michelle & their three kids,  Aunt Helen,  Michelle’s both parents & her family, as well as friends of theirs were there.    My parents were the first to leave.    Uncle Frankie left a few hours later.   He only lives two doors away from Gino.  I left very late at night.   A splendid time was had by one & all.   I only drank two beers, Miller Lite, & a cup of Captain Morgan rum & Coke.    Because of that Gino made me let him drive me home.   His father~in~law followed us.   Yesterday after 8:00 a.m. Mass at O.L. Sorrows I got ready to go to the big annual parade we always have in the Wyomings for Memorial Day.  Gino & his son Eric marched in the parade with Eric’s Cub (B0y?)  Scout troop.  I was a bit surprised, on two separate occasions, when a couple of people said hello to me by name .    I didn’t recognize either of them.   It was a really nice time.    The parade went from Shoemaker Avenue in West Wyoming down Eighth Street & into Exeter by way of Wyoming Avenue.

3 comments

Leave a Reply

