MILESTONE BIRTHDAY BOY~

Source: wipwapweb.com via Emily on Pinterest

Steve’s fiftieth birthday is tomorrow so my parents, Fran , Lisa & I went to Long Beach on Friday to attend his party.  Fortunately there was only a little too much trouble with traffic in Douglaston on Friday & absolutely none whatsoever yesterday.    Mary Anne, his mother, & the kids arranged a really nice time for one & all.  His family, as well as friends of his & Mary Anne’s from work & their neighborhood were there.   Jonathan & Maria were there too.  They remembered me.  Jonathan even said he remembered me because of my guitar & my lifelong obsession with John Lennon.  One of the major disadvantages of a party like that is that I always make quite sure I eat & drink entirely too much for my own good.     Mary Anne & Steve recently got a dog, a mixed~breed terrier named Sadie.  It’s really nice & quiet.  I have never liked animals but I don’t mind having it around because it’s so exceptionally well~behaved.   It was abused by a previous owner.    In certain ways Long Island has changed quite a bit since I lived there so it was very interesting for me to be able to check out all the new things that have been going on around there.   The Sunrise Mall in Massapequa is under new management.    The shopping center where Barnes & Noble & Tower Records once were is now entirely different.   Mark & Laura were their with their kids.  So were Frank & Tillie with their kids.    I was especially happy to see Gary & Maria, & Larry & Rose & their son Eddie.    Right before the party my parents & I, along with Larry & Rose, went over to Amityville to visit Aunt Norma.   Maria showed up while we were there.    Unfortunately I couldn’t make it to the Carmelite meeting, so I left a message with Barbara’s husband asking him to explain my circumstances.   I also called Donna asking her to cover for me because I was supposed to lector at 4:00 Mass on Saturday.

Leave a Reply

